Flathead Indian Reservation

What is Flathead Indian Reservation known for?

called wild

and water for irrigation. The lake has an irregularly-shaped shoreline and a dozen small islands, the largest of which is a state park called Wild Horse Island. These islands cover 5.5 square miles (14.2 square kilometers). Besides the Flathead River, the Swan River (Swan River (Montana)) (known also as the Bigfork River where it enters the lake) is the lake's other major tributary. The lake is inhabited by the native bull trout and cutthroat trout, as well as the non

title historic

illustrations location

url https: archive.org details brandtaleofflath00brodrich * References

independent record

reservoir locale Flathead Indian Reservation, Lake County (Lake County, Montana), Montana, USA (Montana) maint

part big

8 of them are majority Flathead. Whites own about 1 3 of the land on the reservation. Previously whites owned most of the reservation but the tribe has been steadily buying back the land over many years. *Arlee (Arlee, Montana) *Bear Dance (Bear Dance, Montana) (part) *Big Arm (Big Arm, Montana) *Camas (Camas, Montana) *Charlo (Charlo, Montana) *Dayton (Dayton, Montana) *Dixon (Dixon, Montana) * Elmo, Montana Elmo


Reservoir onto the Flathead Range, Montana image_flag flag_size image_seal seal_size image_shield shield_size city_logo citylogo_size image_map Flathead01.png mapsize 100px map_caption Location of Flathead Indian Reservation and territory, Montana image_map1 mapsize1 map_caption1

;. The Flathead would like to regain control of their reservation lands. The area was favorably compared to the Yakima River Valley (Yakima River) in Washington State. Thousands of acres on the reservation were reserved for town sites, schools and the National Bison Range. The Flathead were given first choice of either 80 or 160 acres of land per household. The rest was made open to whites in 1910. A total of 81,363 applications by whites were received for 1,600 parcels of land

of the reservation. Flathead Lake lies in the northeast corner of the reservation, with most of the reservation to the south and west of the lake. Recent years have seen a decline in the numbers

teaching career

of Kalispell (Kalispell, Montana) and Whitefish (Whitefish, Montana), traveling through the Flathead National Forest and the Stillwater State Forest before reaching its terminus at the Canadian border near Eureka (Eureka, Montana). Teaching career Morgan began her teaching career in 1974 on the Flathead Indian Reservation at Arlee Elementary School in Arlee, Montana, where she taught remedial reading and math. From 1975 to 1978, she taught remedial reading math and second

friendly nature

Category:Geography of Sanders County, Montana Category:Landmarks in Montana Category:1855 establishments in Montana History Ravalli County was once home to the Bitterroot Salish (Bitterroot Salish (tribe)) tribe. The tribe was first encountered in 1805 by the Lewis and Clark Expedition, which noted the friendly nature of the tribe. The Catholic Church (Roman Catholic Church) took interest in creating a mission (Mission (Christian)) in the area, and in 1841, Stevensville (Stevensville, Montana) was founded. In 1891, the Salish tribe was relocated to the current Flathead Reservation (Flathead Indian Reservation) under the Treaty of Hellgate. '''Hot Springs''' is a town on the Flathead Indian Reservation in Sanders County (Sanders County, Montana), Montana, United States. The population was 531 at the 2000 census (2000 United States Census). Founded in 1910, it was incorporated in 1929. thumb 250px Some clouds over Flathead Lake (Image:CloudsAndLakeInMontana.jpg) in Polson Montana '''Polson''' is a city in Lake County (Lake County, Montana), Montana, United States, on the southern shore of Flathead Lake. It is also on the Flathead Indian Reservation. The population was 4,488 at the 2010 census (2010 United States Census). It is the county seat of Lake County (Lake County, Montana). The '''Northwest Montana Wetland Management District''' is located in the U.S. state of Montana and is an integral part of the National Bison Range Complex along with four other wildlife refuges and the National Bison Range. The district comprises numerous small wetland environments set aside primarily to protect areas for waterfowl. The district comprises 14 separate Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA)'s totalling 8,452 acres (34 km 2 ) and one 6,300 acre (25.5 km 2 ) Conservation easement along the north shores of Flathead Lake. Some of the land is located on the Flathead Indian Reservation (known as the Tribal Trust Lands of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes) and they continue to have claim over the land provided they assist in maintaining the resource. The Northwest Montana Wetland Management District is administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, an agency within the U.S. Department of the Interior. The individual lands were acquired beginning in 1970 by purchasing plots from willing landowners, and an ongoing effort to continue to increase area.

title historic'


States . Most of the 2,542 acres (10 km 2 ) is part of a reservoir (Reservoir (water)) so the exposed land area is only 692 acres (2.8 km 2 ) in a narrow band around the reservoir. Pablo is managed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, an agency under the U.S. Department of the Interior. The '''Northwest Montana Wetland Management District''' is located in the U.S. state of Montana and is an integral part

Flathead Indian Reservation

300px thumb Salish men near tipis (1903, Flathead Reservation, Montana) (File:Salish-men-tipis-1903.jpg)

The '''Flathead Indian Reservation''', located in western Montana on the Flathead River, is home to the Bitterroot Salish (Bitterroot Salish (tribe)), Kootenai (Kootenai (tribe)), and Pend d'Oreilles (Pend d'Oreilles (tribe)) Tribes - also known as the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Nation. The reservation was created through the July 16, 1855, Treaty of Hellgate, and reservation has land on four of Montana's counties: Lake (Lake County, Montana), Sanders (Sanders County, Montana), Missoula (Missoula County, Montana), and Flathead (Flathead County, Montana).

Search by keywords:

Copyright (C) 2015-2017 PlacesKnownFor.com
Last modified: Tue Oct 10 05:56:30 EDT 2017