Places Known For


South Norfolk

was formed on 1 April 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972, as a merger of Diss Urban District (Urban district (Great Britain and Ireland)), Wymondham Urban District, Depwade Rural District, Forehoe and Henstead Rural District and Loddon (Loddon, Norfolk) Rural District. History of governance The below table outlines the composition of South Norfolk Council from 1973 to 2007.

; sup Others: Independents (Independent (politician)), UKIP (UK Independence Party) and EDP (English Democrats Party). Political composition Elections are held every four years, with the last elections occurring in May 2011. The next elections are due to take place in May 2015. South Norfolk Council - Types of elections ''PKFHSPKFHS democracy 685.asp Dates of previous and future district council elections''. Retrieved 14 April 2013. ref>

; class "wikitable" - ! colspan 2 Party ! Councillors ! Change (on 2007) - 8 +1 - ! colspan 2 Total ! 46 ! - - colspan 4 Source:democracy 2370.asp South Norfolk Council Electoral divisions class "wikitable" - '''Ward''' ''' Civil parishes

Classical Athens

conventional_long_name Athens common_name Athens continent Europe region Mediterranean country Greece era Classical antiquity government_type Direct democracy (Athenian democracy) year_start 508 BC year_end 322 BC event_start Cleisthenes establishes Athenian democracy

date_start event_end Dissolution of Athenian democracy in 322 BC by Antipater date_end event1 Delian League date_event1 478–404 BC (404–403 BC Thirty tyrants) event2 Second Athenian Empire date_event2 378–355 BC p1 Athenian tyranny s1 Macedon image_map Map athenian empire 431 BC-en.svg

title_leader Strategos legislature Ecclesia (Ecclesia (ancient Athens)) stat_year1 5th century BC 1 stat_area1 stat_pop1 250000 (men with civil rights: 30,000) footnotes 1 BBC History The city of '''Athens''' during the classical period of Ancient Greece (508–322 BC) ''Democracy


conflicts in the past in the city between its Hindu and Muslim majorities. Recent conflict occurred in December 2006 between Pahari people of the hill-origin and Madhesi people of Madhesh origin. The conflict resulted in the death of at least one person, while dozens were injured. The conflict followed immediately after the 2006 democracy movement in Nepal. During the conflict, Nepali Maoist of Madhesi origin destroyed the statue of late King Tribhuvan placed at a junction named

, Mahakali Mahakali Jhulaghat (Pithoragarh) 22. Darchula (Khalanga, Mahakali) Dharchula. Border crossing While India and Nepal have an open border with no restrictions on the movement of people on either side

Gauriphanta 20. Mahendranagar (Mahendranagar, Mahakali) Banbasa 21. Mahakali (Mahakali, Mahakali) Jhulaghat (Pithoragarh) 22. Darchula (Khalanga, Mahakali) Dharchula. - Nepalgunj (KEP) Nepalgunj

Academia Sinica

and reunite China by force; a phase of political tutelage; and finally a constitutional democratic phase. According to this theory, China's warlordism needs to be unified by KMT military force in the first phase. After unification, the KMT would rule as a one-party dictatorship and educate the Chinese people about democracy so as to prepare the conditions for democracy. And when the conditions for democracy is ripe, the KMT would start the final phase

to progress towards a constitutional democracy. By 1930s, the Nationalists, having completed the first phase of military nominal unification and taken over the power, started the second phase, and promulgated a provisional constitution for the political tutelage period and began the period of so-called "tutelage".

character, to change the bad old habits of the Chinese people and prepare the Chinese people for military education. The KMT claimed that they were preparing the people for democracy. Among others, they created at that time the Academia Sinica, the Central Bank of China (Central Bank of the Republic of China) and other agencies. In reality, the political tutelage was very much likened to totalitarianism, as much of the KMT's policy during the 1930s was similar and influenced


movement led by Laurent Kabila against Mobutu. Rwandan forces stormed the camps at Goma, resulting in thousands of additional deaths, and with their help and that of Uganda, Kabila went on to overthrow Mobutu's regime in the First Congo War, which ended in 1997. Goma in the Second Congo War Within a year Kabila had quarrelled with his former allies, and in 1998 the Rwandan government backed a Goma-based rebel movement against Kabila, the Congolese Rally for Democracy (RCD

) *Naasson Kubuya Ndoole (COFEDEC (Federalist Christian Democracy - Convention of Federalists for Christian Democracy)) *Elvis Mutiri (ADR) *Dieudonné Kambale (UDECF) Volcanic activity around Goma The Great Rift Valley is being pulled apart, leading to earthquakes and the formation of volcanoes in the area. 2002 Eruption of Nyiragongo Image:Nyiragongo volcano - SRTM.jpg thumb right Computer image of Nyiragongo volcano generated from satellite photographs, showing the Goma-Gisenyi

; * April 8 – Privy Council (Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council) of Sark dismantles its feudal system (feudalism) to comply with the European Convention on Human Rights. and the first elections under the new law will be held in December 2008

First Czechoslovak Republic

functioning democracy in central (Central Europe) and eastern Europe. Under pressure from its Sudeten German minority (Germans in Czechoslovakia), supported by neighbouring Nazi Germany, Czechoslovakia was forced to cede its Sudetenland region to Germany on 1 October 1938 as part of the Munich Agreement. It also ceded southern parts of Slovakia and Subcarpathian Ruthenia to Hungary and the Zaolzie region in Silesia to Poland. This, in effect, ended

, Czechoslovak democracy was held together by the country's first president, Tomáš Masaryk. As the principal founding father of the republic, Masaryk was regarded similar to the way George Washington is regarded in the United States. Such universal respect enabled Masaryk to overcome seemingly irresolvable political problems. Masaryk is still regarded as the symbol of Czechoslovak democracy. The Constitution of 1920 approved the provisional constitution of 1918 in its basic features

. The Czechoslovak state was conceived as a parliamentary democracy, guided primarily by the National Assembly, consisting of the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies, whose members were to be elected on the basis of universal suffrage. The National Assembly was responsible for legislative initiative and was given supervisory control over the executive (executive (government)) and judiciary as well. Every seven years it elected the president and confirmed the cabinet appointed

Copyright (C) 2015-2017
Last modified: Tue Oct 10 05:56:30 EDT 2017